VBUG Manchester Meet…

Continuing my hectic week of nerd community events (two is hectic by my standards) I attended a VBUG doo in Manchester yesterday evening. The presentation was an overview of the of the newly named, and with characteristic verbosity of course, ASP.NET 2.0 AJAX Extensions and was ably delivered by Gary Rowntree.

The presentation only briefly touched on the other elements of the ‘Atlas’ framework but did cover the server side of things in a fair bit of depth, particularly the update panel and the process it utlises to weave its magic.

I have used all kinds of terribly hackish methods for doing away with obvious page postbacks in the past, which generally involved stashing a hidden page in an iframe or sneaky window, but I haven’t really scratched the surface of the frameworks that are available now. So I’m no expert but what I would say is that we should all give it a little bit of thought before using asynch callbacks for everything. Alex Bosworth has an interesting list of AJAX no nos on his blog. The ease of the update panel might make AJAX monsters of us all…

I stumbled today on a new podcast that I hadn’t listened to before and funnily enough the current episode (show, cast, release… what do you call them?) is about the client library side of the Atlas set up which is the bit that was largely absent from Gary’s talk. The podcast is by Wally McClure and can be found here and includes a demo video.

If you fancy going to any of the Manchester VBUG meetings should keep an eye on the listing or get in touch with VBUG.

8 Responses to “VBUG Manchester Meet…”


  1. 1 Noe March 28, 2013 at 4:43 pm

    Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger,
    and I was curious about your situation; many of us have created some
    nice methods and we are looking to swap strategies with others, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  2. 2 general April 10, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    I go to see every day some web sites and blogs to read posts, except this website gives feature based content.

  3. 3 Chara April 16, 2013 at 2:16 am

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This paragraph posted at this site is actually pleasant.

  4. 4 btw.tw September 25, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    Usually I don’t learn article on blogs, however I wish to say
    that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so!
    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very great article.

  5. 5 steel garage March 24, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    As a building material is it is highly durable, does not
    rot. Durability and longevity Costs for maintenance is also
    quite easy for the steel building. The most important
    advantage of portable metal buildings the best and steel building rv storage we will
    also help you make a decision on your new business’
    home. It is also a grill posed by many clients.
    Two, you want to lower the cost it would probably save you a lot of money on sales tax.

  6. 6 Tangela April 29, 2014 at 3:17 am

    This piece of writing gives clear idea in support of the new users
    of blogging, that genuinely how to do running a blog.

  7. 7 Buford April 29, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so
    I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information.

    I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Fantastic blog and great design.

  8. 8 www.guisboroughmethodistchurch.org.uk May 9, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    That is a really good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Short but very precise information… Many thanks for
    sharing this one. A must read post!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

