Phil Winstanley has a mac…

My first blog post… And what prompted me to finally get underway?

Earlier this week I went along to Geekup in Manchester on the recommendation of Dave Verwer Very enjoyable is was an’ all and I would recommend a visit to the next one for anyone with more than a passing interest in all things Internet.

So, what did I learn while I was there? Well, I learned what Pecha Kucha was and that, whilst it is a bit limiting in terms of depth it more than makes up for it in attitude and is a fun way to do presentations. I learned a bit more about Ruby which continues to be of interest although I am yet to take the plunge. I learned that there is a small but thriving community in Geekup that has an active and accomodating mailing list. I learned that the last train to Liverpool from Manchester stops about fifty times and takes an age which is the last thing you need after an enthusiastic night in the ale house.

But the thing that sticks with me most of all. As a largely .Net developer I am naturally drawn to the .Net minded folk at these kind of doos. So, there I was chatting away with Phil Winstanley, famed Asp.Net MVP and all round Microsoft community leader. Phil, author of the comment ‘Dave Verwer is a DIRTY MAC USER AND SHOULD DIE FOR HIS SINS‘, has got himself a Mac… Doesn’t that just go to show you.

Maybe I need to get one…

2 Responses to “Phil Winstanley has a mac…”


  1. 2 macnewbie August 16, 2006 at 9:33 am

    I don’t 🙂
    Nice one Graham


Leave a Reply

