Name those layers…

I have been using Photoshop for at least four thousand years but today I noticed something that I can’t believe I have never noticed before.

With the move tool selected, if you click the right mouse button (I neither know nor care what you do on a mac) you get a context menu allowing you to select any of the layers that has content beneath your cursor.

What’s more, if you select a layer and then hold down the shift key you can make multiple layer selections. How’s about that then.

If you needed one, this is a great reason to name your layers to something other than Layer 1 – n .

1 Response to “Name those layers…”


  1. 1 I like colouring in June 17, 2007 at 12:57 am

    Excellent tip, am I correct in thinking that the selected area will apply to all selected layers? Or do layers still have to be linked to move multiple bits abaout?

    I know its probrably a question featuring several rungs below novice level, but I thought I’d ask. Seems like this is the type of thing you discover at 4am with a massive deadline looming only to be forgotten in the flurry of battle with said deadline.

    Glad to have seen it here. keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

