Free Anti-Virus, Anti-Spam and Redundancy for Small Business Email

Sorry about the mildly sensational title but I haven’t posted for a while and my traffic is going down the pan so I thought I’d spice it up a bit. That isn’t to say I’m not going to tell you how mind…

Just to get the acknowledgements out of the way I didn’t think of this all by myself but had it suggested to me by Steve at Convex IT. I thought it was a good idea so here’s what you do.

Lots of small businesses run MS Exchange or more likely MS Small Business Server at the end of an ADSL web connection. This is fraught with problems not least of which are managing anti-virus and spam and coping with the inevitable loss of connectivity. I looked around a while back for some sort of back-up mail server service but didn’t find much around.

What you need to do is:

Voila… you now have Google filtering your spam, checking your mail for viruses and holding on to your mail if your Internet connection goes tits up.

Your mail might not arrive quite so quickly as it did and this also isn’t going to be the best for large numbers of users but for small companies I think it is a good idea.

There will be those, you know who you are, who will question why there is a need to run a server at all instead of just using Google corporate mail. I think there are probably lots of reasons, having all company e-mail stored locally, shared folder, calendar sharing (I know Google has a calendar but I’m still not sure it is up to Exchange’s features quite yet.)

3 Responses to “Free Anti-Virus, Anti-Spam and Redundancy for Small Business Email”


  1. 1 macnewbie January 13, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    I use Google corporate GMail for all of my business mail and calendaring and I would say it is at least as good as Exchange/Outlook for collaboration. Inviting people to meetings is trivial and it actually interops perfectly with outlook too, so I could invite you if you used Exchange on a completely different domain.

    My biggest worry about Google Domains is that I have no way to get a backup or any kind of full archive out, I could download everything via POP but I like the webmail interface and it wouldn’t give me sent mail.

    If Google apps for Domains had a categorised company wiki, it would be perfect.

  2. 2 macnewbie January 13, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    You could even subscribe to your Google apps for Domains calendar in Outlook 2007 (albeit in a read only state) if you wanted to still use Outlook.

  3. 3 Blue Cirrus September 10, 2015 at 7:37 am

    Hi, I’m a small business owner and looking for some kind of solutions to prevent spam emails. After searching through Google, finally I’ve found your blog, but are you sure, is it really effective? Anyway, thanks for sharing such an advise to prevent spam mails.


Leave a Reply

