NVIDIA Forceware for Vista Released, Still doesn’t work with my laptop…

Since installing Vista I have been checking all the vendors’ sites every couple of days waiting for my drivers to arrive. It has to be said that they are certainly taking their time considering the public launch is just a couple of weeks away…

Anyway, I digress… I found yesterday night that NVIDIA has released a final version of their Forceware drivers. I already had the beta which required a bit of noodling under the bonnet to get working.

With the release version I got an even better error message than I had with the beta.

Setup detected that the operating system in use is not Windows Vista. The setup program and its associated drivers are designed to run only on Windows Vista. The installation will be terminated.

No, that’s right… OF COURSE IT ISN’T VISTA. Who do these drivers think they are speaking to me like that?

Turns out the solution was more or less the same as before, with a few tweaks. The latest inf file I found was for 97.27 which doesn’t quite work with the release version. You need to download it and replace the following lines (which are lines 12 and 13):

CatalogFile =
DriverVer = 11/16/2006, 7.15.10.9727

With these lines from the NVIDIA supplied inf:

CatalogFile = NV_DISP.CAT
DriverVer = 12/07/2006, 7.15.10.9746

Otherwise the process is the same as in my previous post.

I still don’t know why they don’t support my card without all of this hoohah… IT IS TOP OF THEIR SHITTING MOBILE RANGE FOR CLIFF’S SAKE.

Oh well, works a treat now…

14 Responses to “NVIDIA Forceware for Vista Released, Still doesn’t work with my laptop…”


  1. 1 Kurt June 20, 2007 at 3:49 am

    Hey did you ever get it to work? I have a new vista laptop and am having the same issues.

  2. 2 Graham Pengelly June 20, 2007 at 8:41 am

    Hi Kurt

    Yes, I got it to work using the modded inf file as described above and then eventually Dell released a vendor version.

    I still don’t have my sound working properly using the vendor driver though although the XP worked reasonably well…

  3. 3 darwin September 16, 2007 at 5:26 am

    do you have driver for my NVIDIA GEFORCE GO 7300 for laptop using 64bit windows vista? tnx

  4. 4 darwin September 16, 2007 at 5:29 am

    i need driver NVIDIA GEFORCE GO 7300 for laptop using windows vista 64bit. tnx

  5. 5 Graham Pengelly September 17, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Best place I can suggest you look is the link in the post http://www.laptopvideo2go.com

  6. 6 Michael October 1, 2007 at 11:42 am

    Hello. I want to ask about newest forceware drivers. I have Vista 32 on MSI laptop. Graphics card is nVidia Geforce 8600GT 512mb, and if i want to install forceware, it gives me an answer: “This OS is not Vista 32, and this drivers are for Vista 32 only”….. I have no clue how to fix it….

  7. 7 Graham Pengelly October 1, 2007 at 11:48 am

    That’s exactly the symptoms you get without using the modded inf file. If you go to laptopvideo2go.com they have all the info there… Good luck.

  8. 8 Michael October 1, 2007 at 11:48 am

    Wow, thanks Graham for your prompt answer, now i´m leaving my country so after few hours i´ll try it. Thanks again 🙂

  9. 9 Michael October 1, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Ou, one more question, do i have to install these driver (9727) first or can i do it with forceware 169.36 as well? Thanks

  10. 10 Graham Pengelly October 1, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    You should can generally get the latest Forceware drivers actually on the laptopvideo2go site. Search follow the download drivers link and take it from there… I’m not sure what the 9727 you refer to is.

  11. 11 Michael October 2, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    Thats the update which i have downloaded with that .ini file 97.27 sorry i wrote it crappy. But latest nVidia forceware is 169.36 or something like that. I´ll check laptop2go again cheers.

  12. 12 Internet Money Path From Home April 20, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Hi there to every single one, it’s truly a fastidious for me to visit this website, it consists of helpful Information.

  13. 13 http://lac.org/index.php/S=d824e6e6b2f2ccfb3df7dea5b765e71b97079e3d/member/370597 July 18, 2013 at 4:04 am

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this site.
    I really hope to see the same high-grade content by you later on as well.

    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

  14. 14 substantial December 4, 2014 at 7:03 am

    That is a good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Simple but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this one.
    A must read article!


Leave a Reply

