The Hazards of Being a Nerd

I finally got around to doing a short talk at the February GeekUp meeting in which I covered some of the Health & Safety aspects of working at a computer. I didn’t know a great  deal about this prior to researching the talk and was quite shocked to find how prevalent things like RSI (Repetitive Strain Injury) are amongst computer workers with some sources suggesting as many as 1 in 4 people having some symptoms.

I was equally surprised following the talk at how many people in the group had some symptoms, pretty much everyone I spoke to in fact.

So, be warned…

The slides are available here in pptx, ppt or pdf.

Thanks to those who attended and thanks to Andrew and Code ComputerLove for arranging/supplying the venue.

2 Responses to “The Hazards of Being a Nerd”


  1. 2 Graham Pengelly March 1, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    See… I’m nothing if I’m not current. I’ve got a particularly sore hand today too, wonder if it is connected? (I mean my hand and RSI day as opposed to my hand and the rest of me. Just thought I’d better clear that up.)


Leave a Reply

