Windows Rails Environment

I have been aware for some time that TextMate is the defacto standard editor for Rails folk but have also been aware that there isn’t really a Windows equivalent. As I don’t have a Mac this has been an issue. I have tried loads of editors and all have their good and bad points but I have yet to see anything close to the stuff I have seen done with TextMate.

Yesterday, Dave Verwer posted a Windows alternative on the GeekUp mailing list. I dutifully downloaded it as I always follow Dave’s advice to the letter 😉 . Bugger me with the wide end of a rag man’s trumpet if it wasn’t exactly what I was after. The editor in question is ‘e’ which you can get for a snip ($35) at  http://www.e-texteditor.com/

It supports TextMate bundles, has a built in file explorer that can be set to project folders and other goodness and can even be set to have a black background which was the clincher for me.

This morning on my daily peruse of the blogging world I stumbled upon a new post on http://softiesonrails.com which in turn led me to an excellent post by Ben Kitrell which outlines the steps to achieving an all singing all dancing Rails environment on Windows. Nice one Ben… I’ve still got a few bits to add but that sounds the business.

Note to Reader: I have deliberately avoided phrases like ‘Mac-esque’ and the like. Those sanctimonious f’ers are smug enough without giving them further encouragement.

2 Responses to “Windows Rails Environment”


  1. 1 Ben Kittrell March 28, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    I feel the same way about “Mac-esque”, but I figured it was the best way to get some attention. Some people have left comments saying “Just get a Mac”, but that’s not the point. I don’t want a mac, just TextMate.

    Thanks for the nice comments.

  2. 2 Graham Pengelly March 29, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Nice one for dropping by Ben and you’re welcome. Thanks for the nice post.


Leave a Reply

